How Do I Become Confident in My Writing?

by Jeff Oaks

‪A friend asked this question on her Facebook page and I thought I’d write something for the blog, since it’s been a while since I posted anything and I’d like to get back to it.

I get this question all the time!!!

Here are the answers:

1. “You don’t” (traditional but dispiriting)

2. “When you read more and learn the various ways writing may be approached and shaped” (traditional but challenging)

3. “When you do enough physical writing to make enough mistakes which you’re emotionally and psychologically able to reimagine as surprises/breakthroughs/alternatives that you’re never sure what’s going to happen next but your familiarity with the process allows you to trust that it will likely happen enough times to keep you writing. (Long but more true).